MEC announces by-elections results; Kaunda, Hera and Hassan triumph

It is now official that Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) candidate in the June 29 by-elections in Nkhata Bay Central Constituency Symon Vuwa Kaunda has returned his seat.

Supreme Court of Appeal nullified 2019 parliamentary election results for the constituency as Peoples Party (PP) candidate Raphael Mhone challenged the results, citing the election was marred with irregularities.

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) held by-elections in the area, and Blantyre Chikwembere ward and Nsanje Lalanje ward following the death of councilors from the wards.

MEC Chairperson Justice Dr. Chifundo Kachale announced the official winners of the by-election Wednesday afternoon at Malawi University of Health Science (MUHAS) in Blantyre.

Announcing the official results, Dr. Kachale declared Kaunda as the winner in Nkhata Bay central constituency after amassing a total of 5, 422 votes.

Vuwa: declared winner in Nkhata Bay central Constituency

In local government by-elections, MEC declared DPPs candidate Flossie Hera a winner in Blantyre Chikwembere ward with 1, 631 votes, and Malawi Congress Party (MCP) candidate Hackeem Hassan as a rightful winner in Nsanje Lalanje ward with 3, 448 votes.

Meanwhile, the opposition DPP has already sent congratulatory message to their candidates who have triumphed in the by-elections.

Writing on his official Facebook Page, Leader of Opposition in Parliament Kondwani Nankhumwa thanked people of Nkhata Bay central constituency and Blantyre Chikwembere ward for trusting the party.

Nankhumwa however warned Kaunda and Hera to work with their people in their capacity as Member of Parliament and Ward councilor respectively.