SRFA secures top 8 trophy sponsorship from Powertex

Southern Region Football Association (SRFA) has today launched K5 million Powertex Tayale Top eight trophy. The trophy which has been sponsored by Powertex Limited is expected to kick off in the second week of May at Mulanje stadium. Speaking after the trophy’s draw today at Mpira village in Blantyre, Powertex Limited Managing Director Itaye Chidzera said the company is pleased to sponsor football in the country. “We are very excited that finally, we have conducted the draw. We have been waiting for this opportunity but we had to delay because of the pandemic. We are also grateful to Malawi Government for easing the restrictions to allow few people to watch the games. Together, we will defeat the virus,” said Chidzera. Chidzera further said as a company, they will continue sponsoring football in the country if the public support their brand. “It’s our wish to stay longer in football but that will depend with how the public will support our brand. We are a local company and we need the support from the public. We are assuring the soccer loving fraternity that we will stay beyond this year if our products are accepted on the market,” he said. In his words, SRFA Chairman Raphael Humba said he was delighted with the latest partnership. SRFA officials during the draw Humba also thanked Government of Malawi for easing some of Covid-19 restrictions. “I am very happy to seal this sponsorship deal. We are also very grateful to Malawi Government for easing the restrictions so that at least we can be able to have a very small number of spectators to patronize the games. To Powertex, this is the best decision ever. We are assuring them that they will start benefiting from the partnership. We will sale their brand and we will ensure that people accept it on the market,” he said. Each participating team will also be given MK25,000 whilst the losing quarterfinal teams will be compensated with MK50,000. The winner for the trophy will walk away with get MK1 million, with the runners up walking away with MK650,000 whilst the third placed team will get MK350,000 and the fourth placed team will go away with MK200,000. On individual awards, both top goal scorer and player of the tournament will be rewarded with MK50, 000 each. During the draw, it was announced that the tournament will comprise of 16 teams in total, 8 teams which finished in top 8 in division 1 of SRFA ThumbsUp League and 8 teams which finished in top 8 in premier division of SRFA ThumbsUp League last season. Below is the full draw. -MaxSteffords FC vs Wizards FC -Phalombe Open Space vs Nyasa Big Bullets Reserves -Immigration FC vs Prison United -Ntaja United vs MDF Marine -Polytechnic FC vs FOMO -Mulanje Mission vs Sable Farming -Zomba Airwing vs Changalume Barracks -Mambazo FC vs Blantyre City FC.   Sharing is Caring!